Uncategorized

Great Things Happen When

Great things happen when you just decide to freaking do something.

– Fellow Camper

grace

  As I write this, I have been home for about ten hours from my first big adventure as a student at the University of Oklahoma. I took the road less travelled by and I have the blisters, bruises,bumps, scratches, sunburns, sore muscles, and broken water bottle to prove it. I spent six days in the Pecos Wilderness in New Mexico backpacking.

And I sucked at it.

      Anyone who knows anything about me knows how hard that is for me to admit. I hate doing things I’m not good at. I avidly avoid math, phone calls, public speaking, sports, and the outdoors for that very reason. None of us like to admit that hey we actually aren’t Superman. The things I mentioned above could be considered my Kryptonite. Here’s where I want to brag though, unlike Superman, my kryptonite didn’t defeat me.

      Let me tell you again that I really really sucked at backpacking. I couldn’t walk very far up the mountain before a wheezing fit would overtake me. I couldn’t breathe. It was like I had asthma. While everyone else was short of breath I was panting like an overweight middle schooler finishing the mile ten minutes after everyone else who falls to their knees and gasps like a fish out of water. Multiple times I told my group, “I can’t.” But I did it.

And I am so proud of myself.

      It was last night that I realized the importance of the adventure I had just taken. One of the guys said the quote that struck me. “Great things happen when you decide to just freaking do something.” Sure, I could have stayed home and been a whole lot less sore. But if I had done that I wouldn’t know myself the way I do now. If I hadn’t come I wouldn’t have learned that when you reach your limits you can keep pushing and if you do have the courage to keep pushing you realize something amazing. You realize that you are always stronger and more capable than you cast yourself to be.

      I want to challenge myself and I want to challenge you. Just freaking do something. Do something that you never would. Do something someone said you couldn’t do just to prove that you can. Don’t set boundaries around yourself. Go out and go farther than everyone’s expectation of yourself- even your own.

2 thoughts on “Great Things Happen When

Leave a Reply

